Chicago Referencing

Things to remember

Authors' names :

FootnotesAll authors' names should be Name, Initial, Surname  e.g. Eliza T. Dresang.

Bibliography :  First author should be inverted as Surname, Name Name e.g.  Burnett, Kathleen. Additional authors should be Name, Name, Surname  e.g. Burnett, Kathleen and Eliza T. Dresang.

 

Editors' names : If you are referencing the whole book, the format for the editors' names should be the same as for an author in both notes and bibliographies. If, however, you are referencing a chapter of an edited book the editor's name should be Name Name Surname. eg. edited by Paul M. Angle and Mary Stewart van Leeuwen 

 

Italics : Only the book title should be in italics.  If you are referencing a chapter in a book, the title of the chapter should not be in italics but should be surrounded by quote marks "....".

 

Capitalization : All major words in titles and subtitles should be capitalized.

 

Splitting a URL : If your URL needs to be split do not insert a hyphen. Break the URL before a punctuation mark.  Do not add a full stop at the end of URL as this may appear to be part of the URL and cause retrieval problems. URL links should not be live/linked, though Word makes them so as a default (to avoid this right click on the live link and select "Remove Hyperlink".

 

Secondary Sources : You can only reference information that you have actually seen.  If a book or journal article quotes another work which you also want to quote, you need to cite the information as a secondary citation.

For example you read a book by Sandvoss, in which he quotes Jenkins:  "Harry Jenkins states "Recent accounts of fandom in the field of cultural studies have stressed the often negative and hostile representation of fan culture in the mass media."

 

Footnote: 

   12. Harry Jenkins, Textual Poachers: Television Fans and Participatory Culture, (New York: Routledge, 1992), 13, quoted in Cornel Sandvoss, A Game of Two Halves: Football, Television and Globalization, (New York: Routlege, 2003), 16.

 

Bibliography:  

Jenkins, Harry. Textual Poachers: Television Fans and

     Participatory Culture, 13. New York: Routledge, 1992.

     Quoted in Cornell Sandvoss, A Game of Two Halves:

     Football, Television and Globalization. New York:

     Routledge, 2003, 16.

 

 Encyclopaedia or Dictionary

When using a reference work which lists entries alphabetically, the item (not the volume or page number) should be used preceded by s.v. (sub verbo, under the word).

Footnote:

   13. Shorter Oxford English Dictionary: On Historical Principles, 5th ed., s.v. "sustainability."

You may omit publication details for well known works (but always include the edition).  Publication details are included for lesser known reference works following the models shown for edited works.


Well known reference works, such as encyclopaedias or dictionaries, are not usually included in the bibliography.

Books

This page contains examples of how to reference books and book sections, both print and electronic. 

One Author

 Footnote

   1. Carol Davidson Cragoe, How to Read Buildings: A Crash Course in Architecture (Camberwell, VA: Viking, 2008), 131.

 Short footnote

    2. Davidson, How to Read Buildings, 131

Bibliography 

Cragoe, Carol Davidson.  How to Read Buildings: A Crash Course in Architecture.

   Camberwell, VA: Viking, 2008.

 

Two to Three Authors

 Footnote

     3. Jeremy Myerson and Philip Ross, The Creative Office (London: Laurence King, 1999). 

Bibliography 

Myerson, Jeremy and Philip Ross.  The Creative Office. London: Laurence King, 1999.

 

Four or more Authors

Footnote 

   4. Matthew Carmona et al., Public Places – Urban Spaces: The Dimensions of Urban Design, 2nd ed. (Kidlington, Oxford: Architectural Press, 2010), 117.

 Bibliography

Carmona, Matthew, Steve Tiesdell, Tim Heath, and Taner Oc.  Public Places – Urban

   Spaces: The Dimensions of Urban Design. 2nd ed. Kidlington, Oxford: Architectural

   Press, 2010.

 

Book with Corporate author

Footnote

   5. Auckland City Council.  The Auckland Plan (Auckland, NZ: The Council, 2012), 150.

Bibliography

Auckland City Council.  The Auckland Plan.  Auckland, NZ: The Council, 2012. 

 

Edited Book

Footnote  

   6. Marc M. Angelil, ed. On Architecture, the City, and Technology (Washington, DC: Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture, 1990).

Bibliography

Angelil, Marc M., ed. On Architecture, the City, and Technology. Washington, DC:

   Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture, 1990.

 

Chapter from a  Book

Chapter from a book by one author

Footnote

   7. Peter Wyatt, "Valuation Methods," in Property Valuation in an Economic Context (Oxford: Blackwell Publishing, 2007), 110-172.

Bibliography

Wyatt, Peter. "Valuation Methods." Chap. 3 in Property Valuation in an Economic

     Context. Oxford: Blackwell Publishing, 2007.

 

Chapter from an Edited book

Footnote

   8. Marco Frascari, “The Construction Drawings of a Blind Architect” in On Architecture, the City, and Technology, ed. Marc M. Angelil (Washington, DC: Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture, 1990), 53.

Bibliography

Frascari, Marco, “The Construction Drawings of a Blind Architect.” In On Architecture, the

   City, and Technology, edited by Marc M. Angelil, 52-54. Washington, DC: Association of

   Collegiate Schools of Architecture, 1990.

 

Translated Book

Footnote

   9. Ana Martin, Romanesque Art and Architecture, trans. Debora Kent (Chicago, IL.: Childrens Press, 1993). 84.

Bibliography

Martin, Ana, Romanesque Art and Architecture. Translated by Deborah Kent.

     Chicago, IL.: Children's Press, 1993.

 

Electronic Books

A book from a database

Footnote

   10. Roel, Wagter et al., Dynamic Enterprise Architecture: How to Make it Work (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley & Sons, 2005), Ebrary e-book.

 

Bibliography

Wagter, Roel, Martin van den Berg, Joost Luijpers, and Marlies van

     Steenbergen. Dynamic Enterprise Architecture: How to Make it Work. 

     Hoboken, NJ: Wiley & Sons, 2005. Ebrary e-book.

 

 A book from the internet

 Footnote

   11. Philip B. Kurland and Ralph Lerner, eds., The Founders' Constitution (Chicago, IL.: University of Chicago Press, 1987), chap. 4, accessed December 10, 2013, http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/

Bibliography

Kurland, Philip B. and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders' Constitution. Chicago, IL.:

     University of Chicago Press, 1987. Accessed December 10, 2013.

     http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/