Skip to main content

LibrarySearch Help

How to find an article

Option One: Subject Guides

You can search specific databases that recommended by your Knowledge Specialist in their Subject Guide.

  1. Go to our list of Subject and Study Guides.

  2. Select the subject of your topic. e.g. Not for profit.

  3. In the Subject Guide, select the Databases tab to get a list of databases recommended by your Knowledge Specialist.

  4. Click on the database link, and within this specific database, type in keywords to search for more articles.

Option Two: Databases A-Z

You can use our Databases A-Z to search databases of your topic. Use the three dropdown lists under the search box to specify your databases by subject, databases type and vendors.

Option Three: Articles-Express

​See how to find articles with Articles-Express

NOTE*When you find a very useful article on your topic, you can always find more similar articles in its bibliography. See how to find articles by references

How to find articles with Articles-Express

  1. Fully understand your topic, and decide what are the main keywords you need to use when searching for articles.
  2. Go to LibrarySearch and select the Articles-Express tab.
  3. Use your keywords to the search box and click the Search button.
  4. You will see a list of articles that contain your keywords. Under the title of the article, click the View Online tab.  This will show any databases that Unitec subscribes to which hold this article, and the date range of the articles that are available in each database.
  5. Click a database link of your choice to access the full text of the article. You might be required to login to access the article if you are off campus; use your personal Unitec logon and password.

How to find an article from a reference

Follow below instructions to find an article from a reference.

  1. Try and identify what the reference is.  A book?  an article? a journal? something else?  If there are any words italicised in the reference, check them as they may give you a clue.
    For example:

    Ruey, S. (2010). A case study of constructivist instructional strategies for adult online learning. British Journal Of Educational Technology, 41(5), 706-720. doi:10.1111/j.1467-8535.2009.00965.x

    The words in italics tell me that this is a journal article.  I can also tell it is a journal because there is another title before the journal title and there is a doi at the end of the reference.

  2. Search the article via Articles-Express 
    Check the Articles-Express tab, put the title of the article in the Search Box and click the Search button.

  3. Click "View Online" tab under the article title. 
    This will show any databases that Unitec subscribes to which hold this article.

  4. Click the database name to access the article in the database.

 

If you can't find the article via Articles-Express, try catalogue and eJournals.

  1. Get the journal name in the reference.
    For example:

    Ruey, S. (2010). A case study of constructivist instructional strategies for adult online learning. British Journal Of Educational Technology, 41(5), 706-720. doi:10.1111/j.1467-8535.2009.00965.x

    The journal name is British Journal of Educational Technology.
  2. Find the journal in Catalogue or eJournals.
    Put the journal title in the search box and click the search button.
  3. Click "View Online" tab and then click any database link to access the journal in the relevant database.

  4. In the right column of the database page, click the correct year, issue and no.
  5. You should be able to see your article now.

Still have problem to find the article? Don't worry. You can always contact our lovely librarians.

Other tools to find more articles

Option One: CiteLinker

  • If you have the reference details (such as journal and page number) you can use LibrarySearch's CiteLinker Form to link directly to the full text of most articles we have in our databases (please note that some articles are not included, but most academic ones are). 
  • To access the CiteLinker Form, go to LibrarySearch and click on CiteLinker in the upper right-hand corner. 
  • See more about the CiteLinker Form

Option Two: eJournals

  • Use eJournal finder to browse over 38,000 e-journals and directly link to them via an A-Z title search or a subject search