EndNote X7

EndNote is a computer program which can help with referencing and intext citations for your studies.

How do I enter....?

The information contained below is for use with APA 6th and EndNote X7 and X6.  Earlier versions of EndNote may differ.

 APA is a complicated style and EndNote requires some manipulation to get the APA references to appear correctly, particularly when it comes to Electronic material.  Below are some guidelines on how to get the APA format correct.

 

1)  ELECTRONIC JOURNAL ARTICLES

Article with a DOI

Use the Journal Article or Electronic Article reference type.

If there is a DOI (Digital object identifier) you need to use this.  If downloading from a database the DOI may download into the wrong field.  If it does you need to cut and paste it into the DOI field.  Only copy the number string as EndNote will add doi to your reference.

There is no need to put in a retrieved date.

Article with no DOI

Use the Electronic Article reference type.

If you are citing an electronic journal article that is from a Web-only journal, or from a website that does not have a DOI, you need to add the web address of the home page of the journal to the URL field. This will automatically generate the required retrieval note.

If the article comes from a database and does not have a DOI you will have to search for the website of the publisher of that article and use the homepage of the journal in the URL field.

 

2) ELECTRONIC BOOKS

Authored Books

Electronic books with authors use the Electronic Book reference type.  If the item has a DOI put it in the DOI field.  If it is taken from the web put the web address of the book.  If it has come from a Library database put the database name in the URL field ie EBL database.

 

Edited book

Electronic books with editors use Edited Book as the reference type. If the item has a DOI put it in the DOI field.  If it is taken from the web put the web address of the book.  If it has come from a Library database put the database name in the URL field ie EBL database.

Book Chapters

Electronic chapter of books use Electronic Book Section as the reference type. If the item has a DOI put it in the DOI field.  If it is taken from the web put the web address of the book.  If it has come from a Library database put database name in the URL field ie EBL database.

 

3) CONFERENCE PROCEEDINGS

Article published in an edited book (this is the most commonly cited type of conference paper): use Book Section reference type.

Unpublished contribution to a symposium: use Conference Papers reference type.

Articles published in a journal or journal supplement : use Journal Article reference type.

 

4) Blogs

Use the Blog reference type but remember to put the medium type, ie Web log message or Online Forum Comment into the Description field.

 

5) Press Releases

Most Press releases are obtained in an electronic format. Use Web Page as the reference type.  Under Type of Medium field enter Press Release and also fill in the day of the press release in the last Update Date field ie, October 13.

 

6) PERSONAL COMMUNICATIONS

Phone calls, letters and emails should not be included in the final reference list according to APA guidelines.  Cite them only in the text itself in parenthesis.  (See page 179 of Publication manual of the American Psychological Association 6th ed., for more information).

 

7) INSERTING AN AUTHOR SUFFIX

If an author has a suffix such as junior or III after their surname APA requires this information to be included in the reference.

To get this to display in EndNote insert the authors name as follows
 
Surname, Initials., Jr.   or  Surname, First Name Initial., III.  (Remember to put in the punctuation as in the example)
 
Wilson, P. R., Jr.   or Smith, Alan E., III.