See also
Unitec Library links
- Opening Hours
- CatalogueFind books and the titles of the journals we hold.
- Ask a LibrarianHow to get help from us.
How do I
- Find a book?
- Find some journal articles?
- See if a book is on course reserve?
- Search the catalogue?Video about how to find things on the library catalogue LibSearch.
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- Oxford English DictionaryAn online version of the highly respected OED. If you are off campus, you will be asked to log in using your normal Unitec login.
- Dictionary.comIncludes dictionaries, Roget's thesaurus, writing resources, translator and more.
- Merriam-Webster DictionaryIncludes a thesaurus.
- Acronym FinderWith over 132,000 acronyms.
Fact Finders & Statistics
- CIA World FactbookCountry facts and maps.
- Kiwi CareersMarket share of various occupations, pre-requisites and pathways
- Statistics New Zealand
- United Nations CyberSchoolBus - Resource SourceGlobal trends, statistics, country at a glance, City profiles, InfoNation.
- Infoplease: Internet EncyclopediaAlmanac, atlas, dictionary, encyclopedia.
Printed reference works
As well as online reference works we also have some traditional print versions of dictionaries, maps, encyclopeadias, standards and so forth. Some of these cannot be borrowed and are only available for use in the library. To see the library only items ask your librarian to point you towards the 'reference section' in each library. To search for reference works follow these steps:
- Go to LibrarySearch
- Type in your search terms eg "English Dictionary"
- On the search results page, you can narrow the results to just printed items by clicking on the 'Print' link on right panel under 'Narrow my results-Format"
- Click the locations link of the items you are interested in to see detailed information about their location and availability
Quotations
Encyclopaedias
- Te Ara - Encyclopedia of New Zealand Online
- Encyclopedia BritannicaFull text online version of the well known encyclopedia. If you are off campus, you will be asked to login using your normal Unitec logon.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyDynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.
NZ Standards
- NZ Standards OnlineClick on the above link, then click on "IHS Standards Expert". Search for the standard by number.
- Need help?Watch our online tutorial on how to use this database

Loading...
