Step One: Find the book in the library catalogue.
Step Two: Find its location and call number
Step Three: Get the book from the shelf
Option One: Subject Guides
You can search specific databases that recommended by your Knowledge Specialist in their Subject Guide.
Select the subject of your topic. e.g. Not for profit.
In the Subject Guide, select the Databases tab to get a list of databases recommended by your Library Knowledge Specialist.
Click on the database link, and within this specific database, type in keywords to search for more articles.
Option Two: Databases A-Z
You can use our Databases A-Z to search databases of your topic. Use the three dropdown lists under the search box to specify your databases by subject, databases type and vendors.
Option Three: Articles-Express
NOTE*: When you find a very useful article on your topic, you can always find more similar articles in its bibliography. See how to find articles by references
In order to login to LibrarySearch (also known as 'Primo login' or 'mylibrary login') the username format has changed. You will need to use your Office365 login.
Students: login with firstname.lastname@example.org eg email@example.com
Staff: login with firstname.lastname@example.org eg email@example.com
** Please note: the password format has not changed - continue to use your usual Unitec network login password
Here is a summary of the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC). You can use it to find the correct DDC number range for your subject:
Here is an outline of how we have arranged our books on the shelves by DDC number:
Can't find the book on the shelf? or too busy to look? You can ask us to locate the book on the shelf for you and put it at a Library customer services desk for you to collect - See how to request a book for pick-up
Booking short loan items
If you wish to request an item on course reserve (short loan) you need to make a booking. See how to book a short loan item.
Avoid fines and missing out on book requests by setting up your library notices correctly.
As well as LibrarySearch we have other tools to help you find information. These are: